Into the Wild.

Christopher: “I’m gonna be all the way out there, all the way fucking out there. Just on my own. You know, no fucking watch, no map, no axe, no nothing. No nothing. Just be out there. Just be out there in it. You know, big mountains, rivers, sky, game. Just be out there in it, you know? In the wild”

Wayne: “What are you doing when we’re there? Now you’re in the wild, what are we doing?”

Christopher: “You’re just living, man. You’re just there, in that moment, in that special place and time. Maybe when I get back, I can write a book about my travels.”

The first time I watched this movie was four years ago. I was in the third year of my bachelor’s degree. I was weak, powerless and naive. This film was like a small seed in my head. A starting point. An inception.

Last night I watched again this movie. This time I didn’t feel like “Wow! What Christopher did was amazing! He was in the middle of Alaska on his own! Just enjoying the moment, the beauty, the wild.”

I was smiling through out the entire movie. I was feeling like a peer. Not a wannabe. The small seed in my head is now a beautiful forest. A wonderful life philosophy. A search for fulfilment.

My hiking trip in Finland was “an odyssey in the fullest sense of the word, an epic journey that (…) change everything”.

One of my all time – favourite movies.

Photo taken by Cláudia Mendes at the hut in Koli National Park, Finland, Oct 2012. Drinking a cup of tea after a great hiking day.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Cinema, Plans. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Into the Wild.

  1. ritins87 says:

    grande filme, e grande banda sonora!

Leave a Reply

