My home. My temple.

Andrew :”You won’t ever have this feeling again until you create a new idea of home for yourself, you know, for your kids, for the family you start, it’s like a cycle or something. I don’t know, but I miss the idea of it, you know.”

From the movie Garden State (2004)

Over a month ago I moved to a new place to live on my own. I finally created a new idea of home for myself. It is an amazing feeling. A peaceful feeling.

There are bits and bobs of my personality in every corner of my house.

My perfect toothbrush holder. It even has a nickname. Chininha.

Candles and more candles. They always have to match with the surroundings.

My mugs. Each one of them reminds me of a special moment in my life.

My green kitchen with my spices and herbs. Now no one complains about the amount of spices and herbs I use in my cookings.

A funny bag with cats (of course!) to store plastic bags.

Travelling. Movies. Science. And of course my Moominpappa.

My bright red sofa which is, among other things, a very comfy place to work with my laptop.

My postcards collection. My mind travels to a cosy and warm place every time I look at them. I love receiving postcards! Do you want to send me a postcard? Please do!

My curtains who clearly say “Yes,I’m a biologist. I like animals and plants!”

My work desk with a cooking book from one of my kitchen mentors, Gordon Ramsay.

My two cats sleeping in my bed. They make me company and most importantly they make me laugh with their silly actions.

Photos taken by Cláudia Mendes in Martim Moniz, Lisboa, Portugal, November 2012

I feel at home, not only because of these small and random objects, but because of my current journey of self discovery. I’m learning every day who I am and what I want in life. I start to feel comfortable with myself and my life choices.

I’m building a safe home in my heart. A refuge, a temple, a sanctuary. As long as I have that powerful home inside me, I will always feel at home.

Feeling at home is not physical. It is a state of mind.

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My home. My temple.

  1. ritins87 says:

    Lovely 🙂 Anseio o dia em que este maldita conjuntura melhore para também poder ter um cantinho só para mim!

  2. Shabbeer says:

    I love your new place !! 🙂

  3. Shabbeer says:

    Also, you should get David Attenborough’s books. I always feel that each book transports you to see the wonders of our planet !! His autobiography is also quite a read…

Leave a Reply

