Little things.

Some vacations can be busier than my daily life. Sightseeing. Museums. Night life. Food. Souvenirs. Timetables. I’m constantly running to see, eat and experience as much as I can with the limited time I have.

This time I needed a real break. I didn’t want to follow a busy schedule. I didn’t want to run from one place to another. I just wanted to relax and take a deep breath.

And I finally got it. One week in Finland with almost no fixed plans. I relaxed and took a deep breath, but above all I enjoyed the little things.

I randomly walked in the city. I was not in a rush. I was living the moment. I was absorbing everything. The people. The buildings. The language. The light. The snow. The sounds. The breeze.

Everyday I had breakfast with a good friend. A nice talk in the morning. The smell of toasts, oatmeal, tea and coffee. The sun was rising. The snow on the roofs was sparkling. A simple and wonderful moment.

The most important little thing I did was spending some quality time with good friends who I don’t have the chance to see that often. We talked. We laughed. We danced. We played games. We skated on ice. We watched films. We gave long hugs.

The little things are what make us happy and fulfilled. We often forget to enjoy them.

Photos taken by Cláudia Mendes in Jyväskylä, Finland, March 2013.
This entry was posted in Moments, Plans, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Little things.

  1. A fabulous way to enjoy a holiday..going where the wind blows you.

  2. seeker says:

    Ah… my kind of life, enjoy precious moments that mean a lot.

Leave a Reply

