Dance addiction.

“Tutor: What does it feel like when you’re dancing?

Billy: Don’t know. Sorta feels good. Sorta stiff and that, but once I got going…then I like, forget everything. And…sorta disappear. Sorta disappear. Like I feel like a change in my whole body. And I’ve got this fire in my body. I’m just there. Flyin’ like a bird. Like electricity. Yeah, like electricity.”

From the movie Billy Elliot, 2000

 

I am having dreams where I am constantly running against the clock to get to the dance class on time or I am desperately trying to find the studio room without success.

I am having dreams where my former dance teachers are quitting their teaching jobs to become full-time professional dancers and I am begging for them to keep teaching. To not give up on me. I would fly ever week from London to Lisbon to attend their classes.

Then I suddenly wake up and my heart is racing and aching.

I miss dancing so much. A good old school hip hop routine choreographed by the extremely talented  Vasco Alves. A complex and joyful house piece with the amazing Leo. A goofy and “true-to-the-beat” top-rock routine with the resilient Speedy. An organic and full of warmth performance by the quite and “out-of-the-box” Filipe Baracho.

I don’t mind the bruises and the challenging routines. Once I get going, I feel a burst of happiness and accomplishment. Every cell of my body reacts to the beat. And I fly like a bird.

I guess I am having the first symptoms of dance withdrawal.

I need my regular dose soon. Very soon.

Odeceixe June.2015 (43)

Photo taken by Ricardo Ferreira in Odeceixe, Portugal, June 2015.
This entry was posted in Sem categoria. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

